Waterways lose supporters

Published: Wednesday, 26 May 2010

THE General Election resulted in some good waterway supporting MP's being ousted from their seats.

One of the most active, well deserving her award as Inland Waterway Parliamentarians of the Year, Charlotte Atkins (Staffordshire Moorlands) pictured, lost her seat, as did David Drew (Stroud) who supported the Cotswold Canals.

Other 'friends of the waterways' no longer with us, are former waterway minister Jonathan Shaw, Lynda Waltho (Stourbridge), Judy Mallaber (Amber Valley), Lembit Opik (Montgomeryshire), Paul Rowen (Rochdale).