The new waterway units

Published: Monday, 03 August 2009
The names of the 11 new waterway units in England and Wales which will become operational from October have been announced.

The new units and and their managers:

North West—Debbie Lumb
North East—Laurence Morgan
Manchester & Pennine—David Baldacchino
North Wales & Borders—Wendy Capelle
Central Shires—Darren Green
East Midlands—Sean McGinley
South Wales & Severn—Nick Worthington
West Midlands—Dean Davies
South East Jeff Whyatt
Kennet & Avon—Mark Stephens
London—Simon Bamford

A statement from British Waterways relates:

'In the new structure, certain activities such as managing moorings and delivering major engineering projects will be undertaken by central specialist teams allowing the new waterways to entirely focus on improving customer service alongside the day to day operations and management of the waterways. These changes together with other cost savings will allow a further £10m to be redirected into waterways maintenance.'